Welcome Legislators!

January 12th, 2009

Tomorrow is the first day of the 81st Texas Legislature. All members of the Texas Senate and House of Representatives will be sworn in during a public ceremony at the Capitol, and House members will elect their new Speaker – likely to be San Antonio Republican, Rep. Joe Straus III.

On behalf of the Texas League of Conservation Voters, it is my privilege to welcome newly-elected House members and Senators to Austin, particularly those who were elected with the endorsement and support of the League’s Political Committee:

Senator Wendy Davis, District 10, Fort Worth/Tarrant County.
Rep. Carol Kent, District 102, Dallas County.
Rep. Diana Maldonado, District 52, Williamson County.
Rep. Robert Miklos, District 101, Mesquite.
Rep. Joe Moody, District 78, El Paso.
Rep. Kristi Thibaut, District 133, Harris County.
Rep. Chris Turner, District 96, Tarrant County.

Conservationists have high expectations for these talented leaders, and we look forward to working with them, and all members of the Texas Senate and House, on building a brighter future for our state.